The Teepee Motel was originally built in 1942 by George and Toppie Belcher to serve travelers heading across Texas on State Highway 60. This was an era of grand roadtrips, family adventure, and American innocence. The Teepee operated for 40 years, until the Interstate Highway system and a new era of travel routed customers away from the motel in the early 1980’s. The motel eventually closed and would remain so for over 15 years.
Driving past the abandoned motel one afternoon Barbara Woods (a native of Wharton County) recalled to her husband, Bryon, that she had always wanted to stay in one of the teepees but never had the chance. Recent lottery winners, the Woods decided to invest in the property and bring it back to life. They purchased the motel in 2004 and it reopened October of 2006. The Woods expanded the motel to include a 50-pad RV park complete with laundry and bath facilities. Since then, the motel has welcomed a new generation of travelors intrigued by it’s unique and kitschy charm.